FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Dr. David Strauss Is ASCPT's 2018 Early Investigator Award Recipient

Alexandria, Va. (November 27, 2017) — The American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT) will present the Leon I. Goldberg Early Investigator Award to David G. Strauss, M.D., Ph.D., at its 2018 Annual Meeting, March 21–24, in Orlando, Florida.

The Leon I. Goldberg Award was established in 1986 to recognize influential early career scientists in clinical pharmacology.

Dr. Strauss is Director of the Division of Applied Regulatory Science (DARS) at the Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) Center for Drug Evaluation and Research. DARS was created to move new science into the drug review



Dr. David Strauss

process, closing the gap between innovation and regulatory evaluation. The Division performs mission-critical applied research and review across the translational science spectrum. Dr. Strauss previously served as Senior Advisor for Translational and Experimental Medicine in FDA's Office of Clinical Pharmacology and as Medical Officer in the Center for Devices and Radiological Health. He earned his M.D. from Duke University and Ph.D. in clinical physiology from Lund University, Sweden. He also completed a Sarnoff cardiovascular research fellowship at Johns Hopkins University.

"I am honored to receive the Leon I. Goldberg Early Investigator Award from ASCPT," said Dr. Strauss, "and I will continue my efforts to translate new science into the drug development and regulatory evaluation process to bring safe and effective medicines to patients faster."

Dr. Strauss has published more than 100 journal articles and book chapters and authored 1 book. These works have generated insights into the proarrhythmic potential of drugs and helped advance the Comprehensive In Vitro Proarrhythmia Assay Initiative, an international effort to modernize safety-risk prediction for investigational drugs.

Dr. Strauss serves on the Cardiac Safety Research Consortium's Executive and Scientific Oversight Committees, the CredibleMeds Advisory Board, and the editorial boards of *CPT: Pharmacometrics & Systems Pharmacology* and the *Journal of Electrocardiology*. He has received numerous awards, including Forbes's "30 Under 30" for Science and Healthcare, FDA's Excellence in Analytical Science and Chief Scientist Publication Awards, and the Health and Human Services Secretary's Award for Meritorious Service.

Page 2 ASCPT Early Investigator Award

About ASCPT

ASCPT is the leading forum for the discussion, development, and integration of clinical pharmacology, translational medicine, and therapeutics. Headquartered in Alexandria, Va., ASCPT was established in 1900. Today, more than 2,300 ASCPT members are committed to advancing the science and practice of translational medicine.

Contact:

Sharon Swan, FASAE, CAE CEO, ASCPT 703-836-6981 Sharon@ascpt.org

###